British Academy Book Prize for Global Cultural Understanding

The British Academy Book Prize, worth £25,000, is awarded annually for a non-fiction book that promotes global cultural understanding.

About the Prize

Now in its 11th year, the £25,000 Prize is awarded annually for a non-fiction book that has made an outstanding contribution to global cultural understanding for a wider public audience. The British Academy is the UK’s national academy for humanities and social sciences, and eligible books come from the subjects that fall within those disciplines, from archaeology, history and psychology to philosophy, languages and cultural studies.

Nominations for the 2023 British Academy Book Prize will bring together books that demonstrate rigorous original and high-quality research, which are accessible and engaging to read. The Book Prize judges will select a shortlist of up to six books to be announced in September. The winner of the 2023 prize will be announced in November.

Key dates

Event with Alia Trabucco Zerán to mark the opening of the 2023 Prize 16 January 2023
Opening of nominations for 2023 Prize 16 January 2023
Closing of nomination period 28 February 2023
Shortlist announcement 12 September 2023
Shortlist event 30 October 2023
Winner announcement 31 October 2023

Sign up to our email newsletters